What causes the RED Lightning bolt!!??? - Dodge Caliber Forums
Caliber SRT-4 Discussion If you have discussion that specifically relates to the Dodge Caliber SRT4 please put it in here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 10-09-2010, 04:33 PM
egk69
Senior Member
Points: 10,381, Level: 67 Points: 10,381, Level: 67 Points: 10,381, Level: 67
Level up: 83% Level up: 83% Level up: 83%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
egk69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: PR di' Best!
Posts: 1,817
Thanks: 140
Thanked 201 Times in 149 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
What causes the RED Lightning bolt!!???

Like the title dais what cause it?

Cause sometimes i just WOT and it turns on as the car start making boost, and sometimes it turns on when i wot shift!

It majes me sick, but what makes me even sick-ier (<!?) is that I don't know what causes the freaking light!!!



@ U!
egk69 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 10-09-2010, 08:29 PM
egk69
Senior Member
Points: 10,381, Level: 67 Points: 10,381, Level: 67 Points: 10,381, Level: 67
Level up: 83% Level up: 83% Level up: 83%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
egk69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: PR di' Best!
Posts: 1,817
Thanks: 140
Thanked 201 Times in 149 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Stupid iPhone makes me write all sorts of weird words...
egk69 is offline  
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to egk69 For This Useful Post:
CodeTech (11-23-2010), GreaseMonkey (10-11-2010), impulseballer (10-09-2010), mopartodd (10-12-2010), Northern Mike (10-13-2010), UN4GTBL (10-10-2010), UncagedChipmunk (11-23-2010)
#3 Old 10-11-2010, 12:25 PM
BigDaddySRT
Senior Member
Points: 7,988, Level: 60 Points: 7,988, Level: 60 Points: 7,988, Level: 60
Level up: 19% Level up: 19% Level up: 19%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 730
Thanks: 1
Thanked 146 Times in 110 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
The Lighting Bolt in the Cluster is telling you that there is some sort of fault with the Electronic Throttle Control.

The message you have entered is too short. Please lengthen your message to at least 10 characters.
BigDaddySRT is offline  
#4 Old 10-11-2010, 06:59 PM
egk69
Senior Member
Points: 10,381, Level: 67 Points: 10,381, Level: 67 Points: 10,381, Level: 67
Level up: 83% Level up: 83% Level up: 83%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
egk69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: PR di' Best!
Posts: 1,817
Thanks: 140
Thanked 201 Times in 149 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
something else must be causing it.

Few weeks ago I was tying to Clamp the MapV at something else than what Realtune gives you with their FIC and because a few numbers wasnt matching that light came on everytime I try to go WOT. OK I Fix that, it is Clamped at what a wanted and the light doesnt turning on.

Then a few days after that I notice that it randomly does what I wrote on post #1, its weird!
egk69 is offline  
#5 Old 10-12-2010, 06:03 AM
BigDaddySRT
Senior Member
Points: 7,988, Level: 60 Points: 7,988, Level: 60 Points: 7,988, Level: 60
Level up: 19% Level up: 19% Level up: 19%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 730
Thanks: 1
Thanked 146 Times in 110 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by egk69 View Post
something else must be causing it.

Few weeks ago I was tying to Clamp the MapV at something else than what Realtune gives you with their FIC and because a few numbers wasnt matching that light came on everytime I try to go WOT. OK I Fix that, it is Clamped at what a wanted and the light doesnt turning on.

Then a few days after that I notice that it randomly does what I wrote on post #1, its weird!
You don't want to WOT Shift the Caliber SRT-4... plain and simple.

You want to shift right before redline, not allowing the PCM to cut the throttle percentages and hurt boost recovery.


The Lightning Bolt means you are having an issue with the Electronic Throttle Control... aka your Throttle Body Sensors are kicking a Fault Code.

There are two sensors within the throttle body... and they vary voltage to the PCM depending on throttle position. One sensor will read 5v and the other will read 0v... as throttle is increased one sensor will read 2v and the other 3v... either way 5v is accomplished... or something like that.

I don't have my NGC ETC book in front of me.


I wanna say the Lightning Bolt also means you are going into Limp Mode.
BigDaddySRT is offline  
#6 Old 10-13-2010, 12:59 AM
egk69
Senior Member
Points: 10,381, Level: 67 Points: 10,381, Level: 67 Points: 10,381, Level: 67
Level up: 83% Level up: 83% Level up: 83%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
egk69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: PR di' Best!
Posts: 1,817
Thanks: 140
Thanked 201 Times in 149 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
I do remember that when I first installed the "TCS" the stupid light turn on a few times ,as if the TCS was causing it to turn on when it did the "WOT" function, so I guess that may cover the times that it turns when WOT Shifting. I think Im pushing it too far, cause it happens the most when im not putting attention to what im doing

You say im not supposed to WOT shift the car!?, that may be the case of a "stock" CSRT4, but one with a WOT box or with Neil's TCS is meant to WOT Shift all day long! HEHEHE...
egk69 is offline  
#7 Old 10-13-2010, 05:13 AM
BigDaddySRT
Senior Member
Points: 7,988, Level: 60 Points: 7,988, Level: 60 Points: 7,988, Level: 60
Level up: 19% Level up: 19% Level up: 19%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 730
Thanks: 1
Thanked 146 Times in 110 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by egk69 View Post
I do remember that when I first installed the "TCS" the stupid light turn on a few times ,as if the TCS was causing it to turn on when it did the "WOT" function, so I guess that may cover the times that it turns when WOT Shifting. I think Im pushing it too far, cause it happens the most when im not putting attention to what im doing

You say im not supposed to WOT shift the car!?, that may be the case of a "stock" CSRT4, but one with a WOT box or with Neil's TCS is meant to WOT Shift all day long! HEHEHE...
TCS will kick "Mr. Squiggles" in the cluster... not the "Lightning Bolt".


Bouncing off the rev limiter is not good for any car... even if you have a WOT Box or "Neil's TCS"... plain and simple.

All it will take is that one missed shift with a severe over rev... and KABOOM!!!!

Since you openly admit to not paying attention when you drive or shift... you might wanna just enjoy the car "stock".
BigDaddySRT is offline  
#8 Old 10-13-2010, 12:59 PM
egk69
Senior Member
Points: 10,381, Level: 67 Points: 10,381, Level: 67 Points: 10,381, Level: 67
Level up: 83% Level up: 83% Level up: 83%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
egk69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: PR di' Best!
Posts: 1,817
Thanks: 140
Thanked 201 Times in 149 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDaddySRT View Post
TCS will kick "Mr. Squiggles" in the cluster... not the "Lightning Bolt".


Bouncing off the rev limiter is not good for any car... even if you have a WOT Box or "Neil's TCS"... plain and simple.

All it will take is that one missed shift with a severe over rev... and KABOOM!!!!

Since you openly admit to not paying attention when you drive or shift... you might wanna just enjoy the car "stock".
I'm not bouncing on the red limiter, that will never happen if you know how to drive and shift correctly.

Whatever...
egk69 is offline  
#9 Old 11-22-2010, 06:53 PM
08sunburst
Senior Member
Points: 30,947, Level: 100 Points: 30,947, Level: 100 Points: 30,947, Level: 100
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
08sunburst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Filling up UberMonk's Igloo with Water
Posts: 4,479
Thanks: 424
Thanked 813 Times in 667 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Sounds to me like the flux capacitor and the Mr. Fusion came out of alignment.








"I just cant help thinking, thanks to all sorts of things, the environment, the economy, problems in the middle east, the relentless war on speed, cars like this will soon be consigned to the history books. I just have this horrible, dreadful feeling, what im driving here, is an ending..." - Jeremy Clarkson

Build Number-82666
08sunburst is offline  
#10 Old 11-23-2010, 02:01 AM
HIGHBRED8
Super Moderator
Points: 44,632, Level: 100 Points: 44,632, Level: 100 Points: 44,632, Level: 100
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
HIGHBRED8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: uranus
Posts: 6,019
Thanks: 707
Thanked 2,303 Times in 1,510 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to HIGHBRED8 Send a message via MSN to HIGHBRED8
what ever the cause is the bolt means a throttle fault. slice it how ever you want and it will still mean a throttle fault. who installed your tcs box? my guess is theres either a bad or loose connection with that or some of the settings in it are wrong. either way your best bet is a problem with the tcs box.

the only time ive ever gotten it was on a missed shift and the car over revved, and yes it went into limp mode right after that but reset itself after shutting it off and restarting the car.


R.I.P Vegas. We Love You, And Will Miss You.
HIGHBRED8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Dodge Caliber Forums > Dodge Caliber Discussion > Caliber SRT-4 Discussion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome