Dodge Caliber Forums

Dodge Caliber Forums (https://www.caliberforums.com/forums/index.php)
-   How To Forum (https://www.caliberforums.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=65)
-   -   no power to tail lights (https://www.caliberforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=156437)

Mike Samansky 10-13-2019 08:15 PM

no power to tail lights

Hello everyone I'm new here and was hoping someone might be able to help me out. I have 2007 Caliber. I bought it used. The other night someone stopped me and said my tail lights were out. No big deal I thought I'll just change the lamps. Well come to find out the lamps are good but I don't get any voltage to them when I turn on the headlights Has anybody had this issue before? Does anybody know where I might find a wiring diagram? Thanks

dbacon 10-17-2019 03:46 PM

I have the 2007 Caliber manual, and I am a qualified electronic technician, so I can help you, please respond.

Moc 10-18-2019 02:03 PM

Hello Mike

Here's your quick wiring diagram for tail lights and TIPM pinout: dropbox.com/s/3c58s0ymktvnmik/caliber%20tail%20lights.pdf?dl=0

There are no fuse or relay for tail lights all is done in Total Integrated Power Module so most probably your TIPM output for taillights is busted.
TIPM act like automatic fuse that cut power as long a short-circuit is detected and restore power once condition cleared. Therefore if you are lucky you can have a failed light bulb that went on short-circuit and once light-bulb replaced power is restored and will work. Yet if with light bulbs removed you still don't get any voltage to them you are looking at a faulty TIPM.
I've repaired lots of TIPM all you need is to replace the high side switch IC that correspond to taillights output , its $5 Freescale QFN power IC

Good luck

dbacon 10-19-2019 02:39 AM

Moc,