2007 Dodge Caliber SE with no AC - Dodge Caliber Forums
Problems / Dealer Service If you are having problems with your Dodge Caliber and you would like to discuss it, this is the section. Have your car into the dealer for a particular reason and want to talk about it? Do it in here.

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 08-07-2011, 03:54 PM Thread Starter
jovanguerrero
Junior Member
Points: 198, Level: 3 Points: 198, Level: 3 Points: 198, Level: 3
Level up: 96% Level up: 96% Level up: 96%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
2007 Dodge Caliber SE with no AC

I bought a 2007 Dodge Caliber SE from an auction online and I realize now that I must not take anything for granted. The car came without A/C. It was taken down to the dealer and the VIN is showing up that it did indeed came from the factory without. I think it is just ridiculous to even sell a car this day and age without A/C.

Without A/C, in these hot temperatures, won't cut it. Is it possible to have the A/C put in at this time? I have access to a caliber that was rolled over and all the parts for the A/C is in it. I am curious to know if it can be easily adapted provided I have all the parts.

If so, is there anything I should know about before I have it installed such as maybe a computer reset or activation? I would like to know as much as possible before I decide to put in it or not. IS it worth the hassle and cost?

Thanks in advance.
jovanguerrero is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 08-07-2011, 06:58 PM
08sunburst
Senior Member
Points: 30,947, Level: 100 Points: 30,947, Level: 100 Points: 30,947, Level: 100
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
08sunburst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Filling up UberMonk's Igloo with Water
Posts: 4,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 424
Thanked 813 Times in 667 Posts
I dont think anyone on here has ever done it before, but you would need to change quite a lot to switch it over. Condenser, compressor, lines, new HVAC switch(assuming the wiring is there for the a/c button) and i would just about guarantee that the computer would need to be reflashed at the dealer.

"I just cant help thinking, thanks to all sorts of things, the environment, the economy, problems in the middle east, the relentless war on speed, cars like this will soon be consigned to the history books. I just have this horrible, dreadful feeling, what im driving here, is an ending..." - Jeremy Clarkson

Build Number-82666
08sunburst is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 08-08-2011, 07:27 AM
UN4GTBL
Super Moderator
Points: 442,339, Level: 100 Points: 442,339, Level: 100 Points: 442,339, Level: 100
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
UN4GTBL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 29,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Thanks: 14,711
Thanked 6,278 Times in 5,131 Posts
Welcome!

That sounds like quite a project.

There were a few calibers that were sold without a/c - you know the ones that they advertise at 13k to get people into the dealer kind of deal.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
2007 Dodge Caliber SXT | 1.8L 5-Speed

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SRTEngineers
We like the Vette! ... Best damn girl's car ever made.
UN4GTBL is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 Old 08-08-2011, 08:34 AM
Northern Mike
Super Moderator
Points: 26,158, Level: 96 Points: 26,158, Level: 96 Points: 26,158, Level: 96
Level up: 81% Level up: 81% Level up: 81%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Northern Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sudbury, Ontario
Posts: 1,964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 395
Thanked 524 Times in 406 Posts
Welcome to the forum

As SunBurst mentioned, there is a lot of work ahead to pull this off. If you are comfortable with a project like this, and have easy access to the parts and resourses to pull it off, I believe it can be done.
Northern Mike is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 09-08-2011, 10:23 PM Thread Starter
jovanguerrero
Junior Member
Points: 198, Level: 3 Points: 198, Level: 3 Points: 198, Level: 3
Level up: 96% Level up: 96% Level up: 96%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
So I found a caliber that was rolled over and managed to get all the parts from that car and installed in the car with no AC. We connected the wires directly and managed to get the AC going. When we connected it using the wires the car came with we found out that all the plugs are dead with no power.

It now appears that the switches to the unit is dead. There is no power running to the connectors. I took it to the dealer and he attempted to flash it over but was unable to open the AC ports. I can only assume that because the car came with all the plugs in place that the computer would allow for the AC. I am not sure if I can trust the dealer. I feel like he does not know what he is doing.

He is asking to now get the computer and the TCM/TPM something like that and he can reset that to suit the car.

Do you guys know if the computer that came with the car has the capacity to have the AC opened?
jovanguerrero is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 09-08-2011, 10:43 PM
08sunburst
Senior Member
Points: 30,947, Level: 100 Points: 30,947, Level: 100 Points: 30,947, Level: 100
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
08sunburst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Filling up UberMonk's Igloo with Water
Posts: 4,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 424
Thanked 813 Times in 667 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jovanguerrero View Post
Do you guys know if the computer that came with the car has the capacity to have the AC opened?
I HIGHLY doubt that the computer is different from a caliber with ac and a caliber without ac..

With these cars, you never know though.. EVERYTHING is done through electronics..
08sunburst is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 09-09-2011, 06:37 AM
UN4GTBL
Super Moderator
Points: 442,339, Level: 100 Points: 442,339, Level: 100 Points: 442,339, Level: 100
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
UN4GTBL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 29,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Thanks: 14,711
Thanked 6,278 Times in 5,131 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 08sunburst View Post
I HIGHLY doubt that the computer is different from a caliber with ac and a caliber without ac..

With these cars, you never know though.. EVERYTHING is done through electronics..
I'm not surprised by this at all.

Considering that you have to flash the damn computer to get the fog lights to work, this seems completely possible as well.
UN4GTBL is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 11-05-2011, 08:09 PM Thread Starter
jovanguerrero
Junior Member
Points: 198, Level: 3 Points: 198, Level: 3 Points: 198, Level: 3
Level up: 96% Level up: 96% Level up: 96%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
In Need if AC Compressor Clutch

So I got the AC to finally work but the compressor is faulty. When it was taken down the clutch was bad.

I can't seem to locate the clutch only for the compressor.

Anybody have one on here willing to sell?

Jovan
jovanguerrero is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 11-19-2019, 01:16 PM
pdub86
Junior Member
Points: 2, Level: 1 Points: 2, Level: 1 Points: 2, Level: 1
Level up: 3% Level up: 3% Level up: 3%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i know this is an 8 year old post

hey jovan i am curious what you had to do to finally get the AC to work before you found out the compressor clutch was bad and also if you ever got it running properly.
pdub86 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 11-19-2019, 11:04 PM Thread Starter
jovanguerrero
Junior Member
Points: 198, Level: 3 Points: 198, Level: 3 Points: 198, Level: 3
Level up: 96% Level up: 96% Level up: 96%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
The dealer ended up flashing the computer which activated the AC controls.
jovanguerrero is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Dodge Caliber Forums > Dodge Caliber Discussion > Problems / Dealer Service


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode


Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2007 dodge caliber chris20 Appearance / Body Modifications 15 05-11-2009 01:16 PM
Rusting 2007 Dodge Caliber!! mh4ev Problems / Dealer Service 26 08-04-2008 08:38 AM
2007 Dodge Caliber SE: Sensor sbhuller Problems / Dealer Service 2 08-20-2007 08:15 AM
Dodge Caliber 2007 Intake Mod jayster_4_69 Performance Discussion 18 06-01-2006 06:36 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome