Possible to add a sub/amp to Musicgate? - Dodge Caliber Forums
Audio / Visual Discussion Have questions regarding the sound system in the Dodge Caliber? Thinking of watching DVD's in your Caliber? This section is for the discussion of audio/visual items.

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 02-15-2012, 05:17 PM Thread Starter
CADeBot
Junior Member
Points: 37, Level: 1 Points: 37, Level: 1 Points: 37, Level: 1
Level up: 74% Level up: 74% Level up: 74%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Possible to add a sub/amp to Musicgate?

I know this has probably been asked a million and one times before, but I need to know a few simple things. I did do a search and could not find what I needed.

I have a 2007 Caliber SXT with the Musicgate System in it. What I wanted to know is: Could I add another sub and amp and keep the stock sub/amp and speakers? I do not want to change anything, I just want to add another sub and a amp to power it.

I have not seen anything on anyone doing this.

Pretty much I would end up with the stock system, 8 speakers 1 sub/amp plus 1 or 2 subs with another amp. Is it possible? How easy would it be? I figure I would just have the subs/amp sitting in the back by the other sub...
CADeBot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 02-15-2012, 05:31 PM
08sunburst
Senior Member
Points: 30,947, Level: 100 Points: 30,947, Level: 100 Points: 30,947, Level: 100
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
08sunburst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Filling up UberMonk's Igloo with Water
Posts: 4,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 424
Thanked 813 Times in 667 Posts
Yep, you can add if you want. Just need a GOOD Line output converter, but i would honestly use something like a signal processor. Then you just need to run the power, ground, remote, and rca's, and hook everything up.

Fairly easy to do, unless you have never installed an amp and sub, in which case i would take it somewhere.

"I just cant help thinking, thanks to all sorts of things, the environment, the economy, problems in the middle east, the relentless war on speed, cars like this will soon be consigned to the history books. I just have this horrible, dreadful feeling, what im driving here, is an ending..." - Jeremy Clarkson

Build Number-82666
08sunburst is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 02-15-2012, 07:01 PM Thread Starter
CADeBot
Junior Member
Points: 37, Level: 1 Points: 37, Level: 1 Points: 37, Level: 1
Level up: 74% Level up: 74% Level up: 74%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Okay but it would work without messing any of the stock audio up? I have never done a sub or amp but I have friends who have..
CADeBot is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 Old 02-17-2012, 06:11 AM
08sunburst
Senior Member
Points: 30,947, Level: 100 Points: 30,947, Level: 100 Points: 30,947, Level: 100
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
08sunburst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Filling up UberMonk's Igloo with Water
Posts: 4,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 424
Thanked 813 Times in 667 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CADeBot View Post
Okay but it would work without messing any of the stock audio up? I have never done a sub or amp but I have friends who have..
Nope, you would be fine. I honestly would probably disconnect the factory sub though, you wouldnt hear it over whatever you put in there anyway
08sunburst is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 02-17-2012, 06:40 AM
Northern Mike
Super Moderator
Points: 26,158, Level: 96 Points: 26,158, Level: 96 Points: 26,158, Level: 96
Level up: 81% Level up: 81% Level up: 81%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Northern Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sudbury, Ontario
Posts: 1,964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 395
Thanked 524 Times in 406 Posts
As SunBurst has mentioned, it's really easy. Check the 'how to' section and you'll find threads with all the info and even photos.

A really quick and dirty break down of what you will need to do is;
  • Run a fused power cable from the battery to the trunk (inline fuse)
  • Run a ground wire from a screw or bolt attached to the body in the trunk. Clear any paint that would come between the wire and the body so you have good contact. I generally look for screws already used for grounding like you will find around your tail lights.
  • Run a remote wire to turn on your amp. This is best connected to the cig lighter (12V outlet) in the front of the car.
  • Connect a high to low line converter. This can be tapped into the speaker wire at the head unit.
Northern Mike is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 02-17-2012, 09:52 PM
08sunburst
Senior Member
Points: 30,947, Level: 100 Points: 30,947, Level: 100 Points: 30,947, Level: 100
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
08sunburst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Filling up UberMonk's Igloo with Water
Posts: 4,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 424
Thanked 813 Times in 667 Posts
im pretty sure i have a how to with pics on here, not sure if the pics are still up or not though, as ive done some moving in my photobucket lately
08sunburst is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 02-18-2012, 07:38 AM Thread Starter
CADeBot
Junior Member
Points: 37, Level: 1 Points: 37, Level: 1 Points: 37, Level: 1
Level up: 74% Level up: 74% Level up: 74%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Okay, that sounds good... How would I go about disconnecting the factory sub? Just unhooking it from the sub or from the amp?
CADeBot is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 02-19-2012, 09:16 PM
Travass
Senior Member
Points: 5,583, Level: 48 Points: 5,583, Level: 48 Points: 5,583, Level: 48
Level up: 17% Level up: 17% Level up: 17%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Travass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 18
Thanked 156 Times in 89 Posts
I always thought a small screen between the two speakers would be cool. right where the handle is but you could rig up a different release mechanism.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mopar Stage 1,Mopar Blowoff Plate,K&N Filter,BC Coilovers,MPX NinjaBlack Strut Bar,Coil Cover & Fuse Cover Dress-up,MPX Black Headlights,Hella Dual Supertone Horns,MPX Shorty Antenna,Custom Painted Mirror Covers,"M" Badges, SRT Grille Badge,LED Tails & Interior Lights,Custom Painted Stereo/Shifter Bezel,20in Red Neon Tube in the grille, Custom CF Sub Box,Custom "Cuda/Strobe" Stripe,Eyelids,Vinyl Door Sill Covers,Rear Bumper Cover, Mopar Roof Rack
Travass is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Dodge Caliber Forums > Dodge Caliber Discussion > Audio / Visual Discussion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode


Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
REPLACE MusicGate devxmosh Audio / Visual Discussion 9 03-18-2007 06:52 PM
Musicgate stereo atzero General Caliber Discussion 14 12-19-2006 09:03 PM
MusicGate Black_RT Audio / Visual Discussion 19 07-15-2006 02:00 AM
MusicGate System preludepunk27 Audio / Visual Discussion 12 04-11-2006 05:58 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome