no power to tail lights - Dodge Caliber Forums
How To Forum This section is heavily moderated , only approved how to's will be added. This area will help guide you on how to mod your vehicle, great HOW-TO's written by your own CaliberForums members. Look for it here first!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 Old 10-13-2019, 08:15 PM Thread Starter
Mike Samansky
Junior Member
Points: 78, Level: 1 Points: 78, Level: 1 Points: 78, Level: 1
Level up: 56% Level up: 56% Level up: 56%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
no power to tail lights

Hello everyone I'm new here and was hoping someone might be able to help me out. I have 2007 Caliber. I bought it used. The other night someone stopped me and said my tail lights were out. No big deal I thought I'll just change the lamps. Well come to find out the lamps are good but I don't get any voltage to them when I turn on the headlights Has anybody had this issue before? Does anybody know where I might find a wiring diagram? Thanks
Mike Samansky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 10-17-2019, 03:46 PM
dbacon
Member
Points: 10,213, Level: 67 Points: 10,213, Level: 67 Points: 10,213, Level: 67
Level up: 41% Level up: 41% Level up: 41%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
I have the 2007 Caliber manual, and I am a qualified electronic technician, so I can help you, please respond.
dbacon is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to dbacon For This Useful Post:
Mike Samansky (10-19-2019)
post #3 of 22 Old 10-18-2019, 02:03 PM
Moc
Junior Member
Points: 4,828, Level: 44 Points: 4,828, Level: 44 Points: 4,828, Level: 44
Level up: 39% Level up: 39% Level up: 39%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Hello Mike

Here's your quick wiring diagram for tail lights and TIPM pinout: dropbox.com/s/3c58s0ymktvnmik/caliber%20tail%20lights.pdf?dl=0

There are no fuse or relay for tail lights all is done in Total Integrated Power Module so most probably your TIPM output for taillights is busted.
TIPM act like automatic fuse that cut power as long a short-circuit is detected and restore power once condition cleared. Therefore if you are lucky you can have a failed light bulb that went on short-circuit and once light-bulb replaced power is restored and will work. Yet if with light bulbs removed you still don't get any voltage to them you are looking at a faulty TIPM.
I've repaired lots of TIPM all you need is to replace the high side switch IC that correspond to taillights output , its $5 Freescale QFN power IC

Good luck

Last edited by Moc; 10-18-2019 at 02:13 PM.
Moc is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Moc For This Useful Post:
dbacon (10-19-2019), Mike Samansky (10-19-2019)
 
post #4 of 22 Old 10-19-2019, 02:39 AM
dbacon
Member
Points: 10,213, Level: 67 Points: 10,213, Level: 67 Points: 10,213, Level: 67
Level up: 41% Level up: 41% Level up: 41%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
Moc,

I gave you a "thanks" because that was a great answer. Now I hope our original poster shows up for your answer. My last few responses to the forum have been thoughtful and detailed, but the original person asking for help never returned!
dbacon is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to dbacon For This Useful Post:
Mike Samansky (10-19-2019)
post #5 of 22 Old 10-19-2019, 01:41 PM Thread Starter
Mike Samansky
Junior Member
Points: 78, Level: 1 Points: 78, Level: 1 Points: 78, Level: 1
Level up: 56% Level up: 56% Level up: 56%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Moc and dbacon,

Right on! thanks for the help. I have been having a problem logging on. But I got an email yesterday and that link got me on! Sweet. I Tried to reset the TIPM by disconnecting the battery and shorting the cables for 10 min. That didn't work and when I connected the battery back I found out I have a after market alarm. I was thinking that might be the problem.
I haven't tried your advise yet but I hope to get to it today. I will be sure to let you guys know what happens.
Thanks again.
Mike Samansky is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 10-19-2019, 10:57 PM
dbacon
Member
Points: 10,213, Level: 67 Points: 10,213, Level: 67 Points: 10,213, Level: 67
Level up: 41% Level up: 41% Level up: 41%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
Good luck, and thanks for the follow-up!
dbacon is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 10-20-2019, 08:51 PM Thread Starter
Mike Samansky
Junior Member
Points: 78, Level: 1 Points: 78, Level: 1 Points: 78, Level: 1
Level up: 56% Level up: 56% Level up: 56%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Well I have no power to the tail lights and replacing the "high side switch IC that correspond to taillights output" looks to be outa my league. Soooo looks like I'm replacing the TIPM. I'm still trying to find out if the TIPM does or does not need to be programed by the dealer. Stay tuned.
Mike Samansky is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 10-21-2019, 01:30 PM
Moc
Junior Member
Points: 4,828, Level: 44 Points: 4,828, Level: 44 Points: 4,828, Level: 44
Level up: 39% Level up: 39% Level up: 39%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Yes, Totally Integrated Problem Module is a well deserved nickname for good reason.
Despite of what a stealer may say you don't need to pay him a visit for programing a pre-owned TIPM.
Moc is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 10-22-2019, 06:45 AM
dbacon
Member
Points: 10,213, Level: 67 Points: 10,213, Level: 67 Points: 10,213, Level: 67
Level up: 41% Level up: 41% Level up: 41%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
Moc,

Seems a shame he should pay $300 for a TIPM when you could either fix it for him or post a picture of what to replace. I searched and searched but could not find the IC you mentioned, only the manufacturer.
dbacon is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 10-24-2019, 07:23 PM Thread Starter
Mike Samansky
Junior Member
Points: 78, Level: 1 Points: 78, Level: 1 Points: 78, Level: 1
Level up: 56% Level up: 56% Level up: 56%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbacon View Post
Moc,

Seems a shame he should pay $300 for a TIPM when you could either fix it for him or post a picture of what to replace. I searched and searched but could not find the IC you mentioned, only the manufacturer.
Haha That's cool thanks. I was just looking for some advise, I don't mind paying a fair price. I just don't want to get ripped off. Dealer said $1200. I found a company on line rebuilt $295 guaranteed and they said if it doesn't fix it I can return it. I'll let you know what happens.
Mike Samansky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Dodge Caliber Forums > FAQ / How To > How To Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome