Dodge Caliber Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
644 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
dont know if this has been covered... does anyone else brakes make a honking kinda noise when you goin in reverse and braking lightly? its kinda annoying...

·
Registered
1,055 Posts
Not here. I've had cars do that do. I think what i did was slam on the brakes once or twice and it adjusted or something to where it didn't do it anymore... but don't quote me on that and I'm not an expert either.

·
Registered
343 Posts
In my Dakota, in the manual it mentioned something about self adjusting brakes, and when the brakes where applied in R they would adjust/reseat themselves.

Could be the same thing on the caliber, but I haven't seen any mention of it.

·
Registered
101 Posts
in our durango, and the 97 ram 1500 we used to have... they both have/had self adjusting rear drum brakes... and my old 97 used to make noise ocassionaly... so that might be what you're hearing

·
Registered
644 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
weird... hope i didnt get charged extra for that duck call in my breaks :D

·
Premium Member
2,514 Posts
You should hear my 2000 neon in the morning, holy hell....so embarassing sometimes. I had people give me the look, "Do you have ANY brakes left on that car??:eek::eek:"

I don't know how badly you are experiencing it, but maybe slight surface rust, and squeaks for a second when applied? Take back to dealer if it really gets annoying to you, it is a new car...let them know.

[Edited for spelling]

·
Registered
644 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
ya, only happens like once outa every 20 times the cars in reverse... my luck id take it to them, theyd have it for 2 days and say it never made the noise....

·
Registered
126 Posts