Dodge Caliber Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
721 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys, I have a bad decision to make here. Let me start with the how and why first. Okay, I have an apprenticeship with MB that I haev to drive about 60-70 miles per day for (round trip of course, 30-35 one way) Anyway, I currently have a Jeep Wrangler that I love and will not part from that is eating me alive in gas costs. I generally put about $100+ a week in gas in it, so about $400 a month minimum. So, now I'm looking at the Jeep Compass and the Dodge Caliber as a daily driver vehicle and use the Wrangler as my offroad vehicle/experimental type deal. (Hey, I'm basically an engineering apprentice, so ideas pop in that might prove good ;)) So, I like how the Compass is AWD capable in the base model and has a 5 speed available with the 2.4L. But, I like the look of the Caliber SXT Sport better (the R/T is a little pricey for me right now.) Being a loyal jeep owner (and beating the heck out of mine for the past 8 or so years and never having broken anything) I know they're reliable. (Yeah, I know its the same vehicle, but its a Jeep thing...) I actually kind of want the 2.0L that will be made available in the Compass later on with AWD, that way it gets decent gas mileage. What should I base my decision on, and what are your suggestions?

·
Premium Member
2,514 Posts
Do you want manual or CVT2??

Caliber SXT is available with the 1.8L in 5-speed and R/T you can get FWD 2.4L 5-speed (R/T AWD is CVT2 only) 2.0 in any Caliber is only available in CVT2 at least for '07 anyway.

Jeep weighs more and has a higher stance than the Caliber.

I suggest, but may be difficult now, test drive both cars in the various engine/ trans forms.

·
Registered
721 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)