Dodge Caliber Forums banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I took my SXT 2.0 in yesterday to leave it with the dealership so they could figure out why my engine was "rattling". It's nothing major but it does sound like the engine has 150K miles on it.

We rode around and come to find out, the mechanic said that it is a spark knock and should go away as the engine breaks in by 6000 miles. I am at 2000 now so I guess we will see.

Does anyone else have engine noise like this? He described it perfectly, it sounds like a spark knock. It's not really loud but you can certainly hear it and you can only really hear it when you give it some gas....say around 3000RPM's.

·
Registered
1,055 Posts
ghoticov said:
...the mechanic said that it is a spark knock and should go away as the engine breaks in by 6000 miles...
I'm no mechanic but that sounds very odd... and at 6000 miles it's supposed to go away:confused: My Caliber doesn't do that and I never had a car that has done that... or what they say, "spark knock" (just what is that anyways???).

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
GOT said:
I'm no mechanic but that sounds very odd... and at 6000 miles it's supposed to go away:confused: My Caliber doesn't do that and I never had a car that has done that... or what they say, "spark knock" (just what is that anyways???).
Its an engine rattle of some sort, its hard to explain. I thought it was the valves rattling or something but he said it was a spark knock, which makes sense because I had the same thing happen to my 2002 Dodge Ram when it reached about 100K miles.

But this is a new engine, I have never had that happen before. He said it is a new engine and they cannot even touch it without have someone from Chrysler there to inspect the issue. He said if it doesn't go away once the engine breaks in, we will pursue it. I have a feeling this is going to be one of the lingering issues....

·
Registered
62 Posts