Dodge Caliber Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all new member here, first time ever postiong on a forum so be patient.

Just signed up to ask a question. I purchased my Steel Blue Caliber R/T in March for my daily commuter. Got 10,500 miles on it and love it. No issues yet but the normal items. Loaded R/T but no Musicgate.

I have built a custom Sub box that fits on the driver side in the space behind the rear wheel well and extends over the top of the wheel well for the extra air volume. Solid face of box covers wheel well as well for solid look and to provide a mounting serface for fire/ice 750 watt amp. Sealed box to house 10" audiobahn. Trunk cover hides set up nicely.

I have the 6 disk factory radio and want to keep it due to the wheel controls. Now need help with parts needed for amp conection prior to pulling radio and dash. I am no audio pro but have installed amps via preamp conections to aftermarket radios.

Is there a remote turn on wire off the factory radio and if so what color is it?

What exactly do I need to conect my factory radio to the amp. I am assuming there is not preamps on the back of the radio.

I saw some talk about a line output converter. I am keeping the 4 door speakers running off the HU. If I need a line output converter please advise on how it hooks up and any advice on what brand/type to purchase.

I replaced my door speakers with 93 db 3 way Pioneer (TS-A6971R) 6x9's and am happy with mids/highs from those. Just need to finish up the bass project!!

Thanks

·
Registered
1,707 Posts
Yes, you will need a line level converter to hook up your amp, either that or an amp with line level inputs(they do make them) You will have to splice into your rear speaker wires to get the inputs you need. And the line level converters never sound as good as actual RCA connections. You will lose some sound quality with them.

·
Registered
51 Posts