Dodge Caliber Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I hope I have not posted this incorrectly. I see no Tech area.

I have a SXT with about 700 miles on it. It is leaking oil, not bad just a couple drops a day. It appears to be from the rear main crank seal area. I know nothing about this engine/trans combo, but the leak is in the trans/engine interface area. BTW, I have been an excellent mechanic all my life. (well, mayby not the first 2-3 years) I took it to the local dealer (I bought it elsewhere) and he checked it out and said everything is fine and normal! :eek: LOL I asked him if he looked up under the car and he said the oil I see there is "Residual Manufacturing Oils". Holy ca-ca Batman! I'm glad he didn't work on it as I wouldn't trust someone like that to do any work on my stuff. Anyways, we have now had the Cali for almost a month and "Residual Manafacturing Oils" keep dripping out onto my garage floor. Does anyone else have this problem? Anyone think I should return the auto to this same idiot or should I drive it the 100 miles to where I purchased it? Thanks, Bob

·
Registered
155 Posts
I haven't read the owners manual, but if the CVT takes Mercon or some other "red" oil , if the tranny or torque converter is leaking it would be red oil on the floor, if clear then probably engine oil and your right, maybe a rear main seal or pan gasket leak, actually they probably don't use many gaskets anywhere anymore, the "gaskets" come out of a tube........sounds like your local dealer doesn't want to "deal" with this........

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
pacerman said: