Dodge Caliber Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all....I've been captivated by the Caliber.

I currently drive a Jeep Liberty 3.7, 5 spd. With gas prices getting high, the 15mpg that my leadfoot averages...I'm getting tired of filling up 2x/week at about 50 bucks a pop. She's 1.5 years old, still owe 17k on it.

Going through divorce..so in my downsizing..was looking at getting something that can still have some cargo hauling for my job (I'm a computer network engineer/consultant for business networks..so need to haul workstations, servers, monitors, routers, etc etc), that can also have some great highway performance (I'm a leadfoot...hover a bit above 80 on the highway), and yet get my mileage up in the mid-20's. I live in New England..so love 4wd for the winter...hence looking at the R/T model.

So the Caliber appeared to catch my eye. Looks good, had some neat cargo hauling abilities, the R/T model covered having four sneakers for traction, and going by the ads on TV...performance seemed to be a point.

Stopped at the dealership last weekend...they had an SXT I think that had just rolled off the delivery truck. 2.0 with that CVT tranny. I took her for a test drive. I've always owned manually trannies. Sure I've driven lots of automatics. First time driving a CVT though...was...odd. Reminded me of my jetboat..hit the gas, engine goes to redline...and you feel as if you were being pulled by a bungee cord.

I have to say though...disappointed by the acceleration..but this was the 2.0. The dealership wasn't having an R/T scheduled in for a while..they appeared to be focused on having mostly SXT/SXTsports delivered. So my question is...has anyone here, who's had an eye towards performance, compared the 2.0 vs the 2.4?